Thirst

Posted: March 8, 2013 in Asian Horror

thirst-park-chan-wook

There is truly nothing in this world to me like a vampire film, in the sense that once I hear the movie I am about to watch contains vampires, I take off running and don’t look back.  Basically, vampires are NOT my thing and I will usually do anything necessary to make sure I am not forced to sit through one.  I would say ‘Twilight’ has a lot to do with ruination of the once feared vampires, but for the most part, I haven’t seen any truly good vampire movies out there that have kept me interested in the vampire movie subgenre.  I decided to put the next 2 hours of my life in the hands of fate and tune into Chan-wook Park’s ‘Thirst’.  Fate was beyond generous to me and this ended up being one of the greatest movies I had seen in some time.  I have a history with Chan-wook Park and have always had great love for everything he has directed, so I figured if he was going to do something with vampires, it couldn’t be any worse than the vampire garbage that is already out there.  ‘Thirst’ is the story of a priest who is infected with a virus that subsequently turns him into a blood craving maniac.  Priest Sang-hyeon is trying to hold on to the morals and beliefs that have led him into priesthood and rather than killing others for blood, he spends time at his local hospital stealing as much blood as he can.  Quite the hospitable vampire, right?  Soon after being infected, he meets Tae-ju and instantly falls in love with her.  The beginning of the movie is slow, really really slow to the point where I almost wanted to turn it off.  This event though, is the turning point and, in my book, where the movie really begins.

Tae-ju is the complete opposite of Sang-hyeon, in that she really is evil.  She does have her redeeming qualities, which is what makes him fall in love, but she is just a basketcase of naughty and watching the relationship between the two is like watching the chemical reaction between oil and water (my inner chemistry geek is finally making an appearance).  The irony of the film is what gets me the whole time; a priest is infected with the vampire virus and does everything he can to get blood without killing and ends up falling in love with a woman that is seriously the embodiment of Satan all why trying to repress his sexual urges for her.  He loves her so much, that he infects her with the virus so they can live together forever.  This is where the movie began to get mushy gushy (in a fucked up gory covered in blood type way) and I realized that it was more of a romantic horror, which is honestly the only type of romance I will watch.  Crazy Tae-ju loves her newfound powers and cannot get enough of the killing.  More than drinking blood she cares about finding new and exciting ways to kill people.  Seeing as Sang-hyeon has been involved in the church his whole life, this causes a huge conflict for him and their relationship.

To be honest, this is not one that goes down in history for fantastic gore.  If anything this is little to none, which is why I was surprised I loved this movie so much.  The story is such a good one, I would recommend this to anyone.  I don’t want to give away the ending, but I will say it is amazingly beautiful and is pretty much the perfect ending for the story.  The characters are all great and sometimes the plot is just down right crazy.  All the aspects of the movie are very captivating and I really don’t have any complaints on how this movie could have been better.  Obviously the more gore, the better, which I guess technically is a complaint, but I would still give this movie 5 out of 5 stars.  It is a beautifully dark and bloody romance, and Chan-wook Park truly steals hearts as a director.  No excuses, you need to watch this movie!

Comments
  1. GaryLee828 says:

    Okay, I’m going to watch this; so, you watch “The Hidden Face”. 🙂 It’s on netflix streaming, and is really good and has a very unique twist that changes the dynamics of the story. But don’t watch the trailer b/c it gives the twist away. It’s more of a thriller than horror, but definitely has horror elements. You should definitely check it out as it’s a very unique movie. 🙂

  2. I generally can’t stand vampire movies, either, and that was the case long before Twilight put the final stake in it. I like True Blood, but that’s the exception that proves the rule. The last movie about vampires that I loved (the only one, maybe?) was Let The Right One In. Thirst sounds unique, though, so maybe I’ll give it a go based upon your enthusiastic recommendation.

    Btw, congratulations on the teaching position. Will you maintain Gorror while overseas?

    • GaryLee828 says:

      Yeah, Let The Right One In was good; The original “Fright Night” was pretty good. And “Dracula” played by Frank Langella co-starring Lawrence Olivier and Donald Pleasence was good as well. But most vampire films don’t draw me in. I have heard “Salem’s Lot” is really scary, but I haven’t seen it.

      Oh, and of course the first vampire film “Nosfaretu” from 1922 was good! Very creepy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

